Organizing Committee

Dr. Andreas Schneemann

E-mail: Andreas.Schneemann[AT]

Andreas obtained his PhD in 2016 working on flexible metal-organic frameworks. After a postdoctoral stay at Sandia National Laboratories, investigating hydrogen storage in magnesium borohydrides, he started his independent career in 2020 at TU Dresden. His current research interests revolve around the development of new 2D framework materials for energy storage applications. Together with Austin M. Evans, he chairs the young investigator symposium of the 8th International Conference of Metal-Organic Frameworks and Open Framework Compounds.

Dr. Austin M. Evans

E-mail: Austin.Evans[AT]

Austin is interested in the mechanistic underpinnings of framework formation. He is particularly interested in how higher quality materials accessed through designed chemical synthesis can improve framework performance in emerging applications such as electronics or spintronics. Together with Andreas, he is chairing the Young Investigator Symposium.

Dr. Dianne J. Xiao

E-mail: djxiao[AT]

Dianne Xiao

Dianne earned her A.B. degree from Harvard University in 2011 and her Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley in 2016, where she was an NSF graduate research fellow. She completed her postdoctoral studies at Stanford University as an Arnold O. Beckman Postdoctoral Fellow. Dianne joined the Department of Chemistry at the University of Washington as an Assistant Professor in 2019. The Xiao research group develops new strategies to control the structure of porous frameworks and dense coordination solids across multiple length scales, from the molecular to the nano-, meso-, and macroscale. Dianne is responsible for the organization of the keynote lectures of the event.

Dr. Edmundo Guzmán-Percástegui

E-mail: eguzper[AT]

Edmundo obtained his PhD in 2011 at the University of Oregon (United States of America), investigating supramolecular aspects of main group complexes. After a postdoctoral stay at the UNAM Institute of Chemistry (2013-2015) and University of Cambridge (2016-2018) developing calixarene-based coordination systems and metal-organic receptors, respectively, he joined the Institute of Chemistry as a Researcher, based at the Joint Center for Research in Sustainable Chemistry CCIQS UAEM-UNAM. He is currently working on design of Metal-Organic Cages for aqueous and solid-state guest-binding and storage, as well as for the exploration of supramolecular catalysis and guest transformations. Together with Sarah, Edmundo he is responsible for the abstract submission system and the abstract evaluation.

Dr. Pradip Pachfule

E-mail: ps.pachfule[AT]

Pradip obtained his PhD in 2014 working on functionalized metal-organic frameworks for hydrogen storage. After a postdoctoral stay at AIST Osaka, investigating applications of MOF-derived materials for energy storage, water splitting and heterogeneous catalysis, he started working as a postdoctorate research fellow in 2017 at TU Berlin. He is currently working on the synthesis of covalent organic frameworks for photocatalytic water splitting and carbon dioxide reduction. Pradip is responsible for the homepage of the event and manages the abstract evaluation.

Dr. Romy Lena Ettlinger

E-mail: rle6[AT]

Romy obtained her PhD from University of Augsburg. Currently, she is working as a postdoctoral fellow at University of St Andrews. Her research is focused on the development of various porous hybrid framework materials and composites as well as their functionalization for medical and environmental applications. Romy is organizing the social event and responsible for the social media accounts.

Dr. Sarah S. Park

E-mail: sarahpark[AT]

Sarah S. Park received a B.S. and a M.S in Chemistry from Ewha Womans University, and a Ph.D. in Inorganic Chemistry from MIT in 2017, where she studied electron- or ion-conducting metal-organic frameworks under the supervision of Prof. Mircea Dincă. She joined Prof. Chad Mirkin’s group at Northwestern University for postdoctoral studies and worked on colloidal crystal engineering with DNA. She joined the Department of Chemistry at POSTECH as an Assistant Professor in 2020. Together with Edmundo, Sarah manages the abstract submission system and the abstract evaluation.

Dr. Simon Krause

E-mail: s.krause[AT]

Dr Simon Krause is a chemist working at the intersection of organic, inorganic, physical, and materials chemistry. He studied chemistry at the University of Nottingham (UK) and Technische Universität Dresden (Germany). In 2019 he obtained his PhD at TU Dresden in the field of negative gas adsorption of flexible metal-organic frameworks. From 2019-2020 he worked in the field of light-driven molecular motors and switches as a Feodor Lynen post-doctoral research fellow of the Alexander von Humboldt foundation in the group of Prof. Ben Feringa at the University of Groningen (Nl). Since 2021 he is a group leader at the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research in Stuttgart (Ger) supported by a Liebig Fellowship researching in the field of framework-embedded molecular machines. If not in the lab you can find him on a lacrosse field, slamming about science or behind a camera. Simon helps organizing the social event.

Dr. Shan Jiang

E-mail: jiangshan[AT]

The research at the Shan Jiang Group is centred around porous molecular materials, in particular, porous organic cages (POCs). These cages work as an individual molecules, containing an internal permanent cavity, which is accessible through windows. In the group of Shan Jiang Group, the applications of cages for gas storage, gas separation, molecular recognition and catalysis are explored. Shan is responsible for managing the time-schedule of the meeting.

Dr. Tian Luo

E-mail: tian.luo[AT]

Tian is currently working as a postdoctoral researcher at Technische Universität Dresden (Germany). Her research is focused on the synthesis of functionalized organic linkers and corresponding functionalized MOFs. Tian is studying the physiochemical properties of MOFs (e.g. flexibility) upon guest molecule loading, for their applications in photocatalysis. Tian is responsible for the mailbox of the conference.